sup shop
Starboard All Star

SUP 11-City Tour 2011 – Day 2


Extreme SUPping!
Today was the second day of the SUP11City tour, that will continue till September 11. The 3rd edition of the SUP 11-City tour takes place. Athletes experience the ultimate challenge as they paddle 220 kilometers (136 miles) in five days with heavy weather conditions, with wind forecasts up to 7bft. The second day was almost as tough as the first, with a south western wind blowing 4 bft.

Extreme second day
After the tough race of yesterday, today it was also hard to paddle for the forty athletes. The second day started in Sloten with a start sign of the mayor, who woke up early to cheer for the athletes. The route in the direction of Stavoren contained many open water areas with strong head on winds around 5-6 bft, which forced the athletes on their knees on the board to be able to continue. Today Bart de Zwart, Ryan James and Paul Jackson were leading again in the first part of the race. However in the second part, the youngest participant of the event the Danish Casper Steinfath caught up with the leaders and finished third after Bart de Zwart and Ryan James. First woman to finish was Angela van Hoof-Jackson with a small advantage on Anne-Marie Reichman, who finished second. Third was Simone Horsfield. Best team was Hightide. Several participants had to end the race before the finish because of the heavy weather conditions.
1. Bart de Zwart – 5 h. 46 min. 11 sec
2. Ryan James – 5 h. 46 min. 14 sec.
3. Casper Steinfath – 5 h. 48 min. 23 sec.
4. Paul Jackson – 5 h. 48 min. 38 sec.
5. Belarmino Diaz – 5 h. 58 min. 14 sec
1. Angela van Hoof – Jackson 7 h. 00 min. 00 sec.
2. Anne-Marie Reichman – 7 h. 2 min. 36 sec.
3. Simone Horsfield – 7 h. 14 min. 38 sec.
4. Pat Hernandez – 7 h. 59 min. 23 sec.
5. Petra Offermanns – time will follow
1. Team Hightide Surfshop – Ivo Kemper – 6 h. 55 min. 51 sec.
2. Team Team The Spot – Nancy Wesselz – 7 h. 2 min. 14 sec.
3. Team Starboard-Supmagazine – Thewes de Boer – 7 h. 23 min. 09 sec.
4. Team Kitemobile – Steef de Jong – 7 h. 34 min. 51 sec.
5. Team Men – Ed Asselé – 7 h. 40 min. 0 sec.

Tags: , ,

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published.